Mothering

Standard

I’m finding myself much less inclined these days to find facts and figures, to soapbox about issues, or to rant and rave.

Instead, I’m finding myself reading for pleasure instead of education- more fantasy and science fiction, my childhood loves. When I do read birth books, it’s for the stories of graceful births of all sorts- but mostly I’m reading a lot of Mercedes Lackey and Anne McCaffery.

I’m watching funny shows on TV instead of documentaries about babies. I’m cooking again (with the help of a rolling chair, since I can’t stand for very long due to anemia) and I’m playing with my son more.

That last seems like it should be common sense- enjoy time with my boy before it has to be divided up three ways, but I was really caught up in making sure I was prepared. He spends a lot of time with my folks, so my time with him is special because I don’t get worn out. It helps a lot, him spending weekends on Grandpa’s farm. He meets corn and pumpkins, learns about dirt and growing things, meets horses, harvests his own meals, and sees precisely where a lot of our food comes from- but also, he’s spending time with my dad, and that’s important to me. (My dad was awesome when I was little.)

Days like today, I really am exhausted. My boy’s sleeping, and I should be too-  instead, I’m taking a few quiet minutes to make a post, since it’s been a while, and to eat some fresh made bread (which is fairly dense and doughy and clearly I need more practice at this!) with butter.

Weekends away from my son mean that I get a fresh renewal of delight every single week. I don’t really have the opportunity to grow frustrated and irritated with every little thing (outside of the obvious, when I’m tired and he’s tired and we’re butting heads). I can’t take for granted that tomorrow morning, we can try again- because tomorrow morning may be Saturday and he’ll be gone.

Anyway, today’s been a nice day. Shopping for groceries, cooked Cream of Mushroom soup via this fantastic blog in preparation for another of her recipes tomorrow, and made fresh bread for the first time with the breadmaker. Baked potatoes for supper, and it was lovely. Leftovers become hashbrowns tomorrow morning, one less fuss for breakfast- probably hashbrowns and eggs, so we have some protein.

Now, for a last glass of milk, and fervent prayers that the only bottle/nipple I can find in the house comes clean after soaking in hot water and vinegar. Because that sour milk smell? NOT appealing.

 

Leave a Reply

