Standard

We have had a hell of a week.

We spent the night of the 6th in the ER with Kaeli- we took her to urgent care in the daytime hours and were told her cough was a viral cough, to give her Benadryl, she’ll be fine, we don’t -give- cough syrup to her age group, go away. That night, she coughed until she vomited and literally did not stop coughing for two solid hours, gasping for breath in between fits of coughing. We finally took her to the ER and several unpleasant tests later, we’re told she has pneumonia. She’s on high dose antibiotics right now and her cough is already improving.

On the tail of that, on the 7th, we’re on our way to my sister’s house and we get into a car accident. It happened so fast that I only vaguely remember what happened- I looked up, there was a car in front of us pulling across three lanes of busy traffic, and I hear Ben say something and I have this realization that we’re going to hit them, and I sort of resigned myself to the idea- then there’s a big crunch, and everything went black. When it came back, it was like in the movies. It sort of faded in from black, with everything muffled except for a powerful ringing in my ears. Everything was fuzzy and blurry, and my first thought was “…. oh, my glasses…” because I can’t get them replaced. I put my hands on my face, which was numb, and felt my glasses (which were intact and just fine except for needing some minor adjustments) and then realized my face was wet. For a panicked moment, I thought I was bleeding, but when I looked at my hands (the world still ringing and swaying) I found no blood. (It turned out a cup of soda in the cupholder exploded and got everything wet.) The other driver was fine, but Ben punched the windshield with his wrist when the impact happened, and it crazed and broke the windshield- there’s a bump there now- and fortunately, his wrist is bruised and scraped but nothing’s broken. 

So I have a headache and my jaw hurts, and I’m in a little shock, and a bystander calls the police for us. When the officer shows up, he takes everyone’s information and everything, and issues the other driver a ticket and assigns him fault for the accident. The way I understand it, he neglected a stop sign and just pulled out into traffic. Ben says he tried to stop and turn, but there were people beside us, and instead of speeding up and getting out of the way, the other driver panicked and slammed on his breaks, which stopped him just too soon. Our front driver’s headlight caught his back driver’s bumper and crunch, here we are.

We went to urgent care where they recommended I go up to the ER, which I chose not to do that night. The next day, I still had a headache and dizzy spells, so I went back to the ER on the 8th….

Which was a nightmare in itself.

Seven hours sitting in the waiting room of the ER, twenty minutes in the ER itself. They did xrays on my neck and my jaw, and finally a CT scan of my brain to make sure I’m not bleeding in there. Final verdict? Mild head injury and jaw swelling, go home and sleep it off.

Seven hours, for … well, not nothing, but for validation. That’s a long wait, which is why I chose not to go to the ER that night. Apparently, -everyone- got into accidents the last two days and the ER was full of it.

Which brings us to today: No school due to snow, unexpectedly early morning, and a day full of things like “Mom, she’s not touching me!” “Kaeli, don’t trip your sister” and “Please, for the ninth time in a row, leave the dog alone.”

We still have pneumonia cough, I still have a headache, and the car is still undriveable. But my ex kindly loaned me his car for a few days which is a blessing since I have errands to do today. Wish me luck.

 

Leave a Reply

