Here we go again

Standard

Onward to baby number 5!

I’ve been lax at posting, because four kids and a business make for complicated times. But this pregnancy is driving me bonkers.

Being pregnant in your 40’s is different than in your twenties, and I’ve been exhausted. We had a rough start with a subchorionic hematoma that had some bleeding in the beginning of this pregnancy, but otherwise it’s been very dull. Everything normal, everything simple.

Until now.

So a) this baby is breech at 31 weeks, so we’re looking into Spinning Babies to flip his stubborn butt, and possibly another ECV like his brother.

And b) we’ve been using the same midwives we used last time, who were a wonderful, attentive clinic for Ian’s birth. But this time around, I’ve been feeling neglected and brushed off? It’s not great. And then last week, they announced that in spite of being hired on as a home birth midwife, they will not be doing home births any more. With two months left on my schedule. “But!” they tell me reassuringly, “We’ve talked to some local home birth midwives and they’re offering discounts/prorates for people to transfer care to them for home births!”

This is not true. What they did was just (reluctantly) inform me today that what I need to do is to “call around” and “let people know what happened” and basically hope they take pity on me. Five clinics I called, and four of them didn’t even know about this situation. I’ve been offered some very generous discounts- $1000 off the fees, payment plans- but when my total is still $4000, due by 36 weeks (five weeks from now!!!) it’s as unachievable as the moon.

I’m endlessly frustrated right now.

So we might wind up having a birth center birth, which is going to require so much more planning and finding babysitters and climbing the stairs when I get done because – oh yeah! We moved! Into a larger house with more room for the whole family. But our house is now three stories (basement, ground, and second) and my room is, of course, on the second floor. So I get to climb the stairs immediately after birth.

Well, I’ll make the best of this. I’m just /tableflip angry about it.

Leave a comment